Indian Cryogenics Council Inter -University Accelerator Centre Aruna Asaf Ali Marg, New Delhi- 67 (Reg. Office : Jadavpur University -32)

Minutes of the Meeting of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic Council held at IISc., Bangalore, Dec. 4, 2008

The meeting of the Executive Council of the Indian Cryogenic council (ICC) was held at IISc., Bangalore, Dec. 4, 2008 (First day of 22nd National Symposium on Cryogenics) The following were present:

1. Dr. Amit Roy,	President (Chairman)
2. Prof K.G Narayankhedkar	Vice President
3. Prof Subhash Jacob	Vice President
4. Prof Sunil Sarangi	Member
5. Mr R. B. Saxena	Member
6. Dr. Harikishan	Member
7. Dr. M. D. Atrey	Secretary (West Zone)
8. Dr B. Sarkar	Member (West Zone)
9. Prof. V.V Rao	Member (East zone)
10. Prof. S. Kasthurirangen	Member (South Zone)
11. Prof. S.L.Bapat	Member (West Zone)
12. Dr V. Chopra	Member
13. Mr. S.S. Verma	Member (North zone)
14. Mr. N.K. Gupta	Secretary (South zone)
15. Prof Y. C Saxena	Member (West zone)
16. Mr Trilok Singh	Special Invitee
17. Prof . E.S. Rajagopal	Special Invitee
18. Dr. T.S. Radhakrishnan	Special Invitee
19. Dr. R.G. Sharma	Special Invitee
20. Prof R. Srinivasan	Special Invitee
21. Mr T S Datta	Secretary (Technical), Convener

Dr. Amit Roy welcomed the members and the invitees to the meeting and briefed them that even though the last EC Meeting was held as early as Sept. 23, 2008 at NPL yet it

was thought prudent to hold the EC meeting at IISc. as it coincided with NSC-22 and would be attended by a larger number of members and special invitees. Mr. T.S Datta informed the members that the draft of the minutes of last EC meeting was circulated among the members for necessary correction/ editing. After incorporating corrections, the minutes were circulated to all EC members for their information.

- 1. Minutes of the earlier Meeting of the Executive Council held on Sept. 23, 2008 at National Physical Laboratory, New Delhi were confirmed.
- 2. Mr. T.S. Datta presented the brief activities carried out by the President's Office. The membership drive launched and augmentation of the funds, in particular came up for appreciation. All major institutions involved in cryogenic research and applications are now well represented under the ICC umbrella.
- 3. There were detailed discussions about the EC decision on publication of forth coming volumes (33 & 34) of Indian Journal of Cryogenics from President office rather than Registered office as a temporary step to avoid duplicate publication. All the members supported this decision. Members also appreciated the quality of publication and approved the new format and the front page cover design of the Journal. (Detailed report is available in earlier minutes of the meeting of 23.09.2008)
- 4. Prof. E.S.R. Gopal and Dr. V.K. Chopra made the suggestion that major decisions concerning the changes in Rules and Regulations of the ICC should be taken by the General Body of the ICC. Dr. Roy agreed and clarified that AGM agenda (Circulated to all members) includes this EC decision on amendment of rules & regulation for approval GB.
- 5. Circulated letter to members of ICC from Prof. B.K. Chaudhuri, Secretary (Administration) came up for discussion. The members felt that the letter written by him has no basis, and was totally uncalled for. Prof. Sarangi mentioned that Prof. Choudhuri, Secretary (Administration), did not take the initiative to call the EC and GB Meetings during NSC-22, being held at IISc. Mr. T.S. Datta, Secretary (Technical) having called the meetings of the EC and of the GB during NSC-22 with due permission of the President was therefore took the right step and the procedure followed is perfectly in order. Mr. T S Datta informed that no communications were received by the President's office from Prof. Choudhuri about his not attending the GB Meeting either here or earlier at NPL on Sept.23, 2008. With reference to comment on the validity of the posts of

Secretary (Technical) and Local Treasurer, it was informed that the decisions were taken by the earlier EC and this had the approval of the GB held on 24.02. 2005 at NIT. Surat. Minutes were signed by Prof A. K. Pal, then Secretary (Administration) and Dr Bongirwar (then Vice President). Members felt that Prof. Pal and Prof. Chaudhri should have attended the EC and GB meetings at IISc. and put forth their views before the Cryogenic Fraternity through the GB.

6. Dr. Roy, Prof. Raja Gopal and Dr. T.S. Radhakrishnan mentioned that it is a norm and also customary that GBM is held during the National Symposium (now held once in two years) which is attended by the maximum number of Members. The present GBM just meets that end.

7. It was also brought to the notice of the EC by Mr. T.S. Datta that a little while ago another website of the ICC has been opened from Registered office without proper authorization of the EC or the President. There is already a website of the ICC functioning for quite some time. All the members felt that such a thing should not have happened. Similarly, based on the request of a few members (Whose names were not mentioned) from Kolkata to call a meeting, Prof B.K. Chaudhuri called for a meeting with Members from Kolkata on August 25, 2008 without informing President and EC. Members condemned this action of Prof. Chaudhuri for having called this meeting without prior intimation to EC and President.

8. The proposal by the earlier EC for shifting the HQ of the ICC from Jadavpur University to VECC was placed before the members. All members felt strongly that this decision is appropriate due to emerging of VECC as a major Centre of Cryogenic Research with very large number of enthusiastic Cryogenic Experts. Consensus was that the proposal may be got rectified by the GB and appropriate steps may be taken as required by law to change the address of the registered office.

9. Finally, members agreed that ICC should go ahead with all the on going activities initiated by the President, Dr Amit Roy and his team. These activities are bound to rejuvenate ICC and the team has the full support of all the EC members & invitees.

Meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the Chair.